Major Update

Ahhh, I’m back! I’m back from the great depths of isolation and I’m now allowed to eat and breathe in the free world that is outside the 4 walls of my bedroom! (I’m so excited I can hardly contain myself). You seriously have no idea what it’s like to eat real food…

Okay, we’ll start with last Friday.

I went to the doctors and I got my first dose of radioactive iodine. It was the small, you don’t have to do anything special about it. So that weekend, I had to organize my room so that when I was radioactive, I would have the least on less stress, my room would be clean. :)

And of course, cleaning my room I decided that it would be as good of time as ever to focus on organizing my wips and yarn… who knew a five minute idea would end up taking hours? Oh well, I found it very exciting.

DSC00921DSC00912

I first started with the organization of my projects. (This would happen on day 1).

After I got my projects in bags (where each of my many wips were in their own bag with their pattern-if they had one-needles, and yarn). Then I go bored and I decided that hey, I should knit my watermelon sock since I recently got more yarn for it and it was almost finished.

DSC00917DSC00918DSC00919

And I could just sit there is silence and knit, could I?

DSC00920DSC00914DSC00923

So I watch all 1186 minutes of the OC while knitting and cleaning. :) I even watched most of the 1064 minutes of season 2.

I did finish the socks (and I do remember taking pictures, but I can’t find them…)

After finishing the socks I decided to go to bed since it was like midnight. :)

So I awoke early in the day (okay, 10 AM) and decided to continue my cleaning spree. I couldn’t just stop with the wips, I had to organize the stash too. :)

DSC00982

Yes, it’s a lot of yarn. I will admit. My parents still twitch when I tell them that I don’t have enough yarn to make anything…

Soon (hours later) it looked like this:

DSC00994

Beautiful isn’t it?

Well, let’s just say it doesn’t look like that anymore and it’s only been a few days…

Amongst the feeling of spring yarn project organizing, I decided to cut down on some projects that I knew I would never knit. It crushed my heart and soul ripping these projects out, but it was for the best… :( There was:

1. The 3 Hour Sweater. Once I put it on the stitch holder, I should have known what it’s fate was going to be…

DSC00979DSC00981

2. The Waikiki Yarn scarf. It’s not my fault that it’s so thin and needed size 5 needles. Do you know how long it would take me to knit a scarf? For ever.

DSC00976

(Note: there were other fatalities but some were too heart wreching and “why did I even cast that on?” ish that I couldnt’t picture them all.) Okay, I’m a whimp. There were only like 3 or 4, I can’t stand to frog helpless projects that did nothing wrong but feed my start-itis.

What I did do, is (during the thousands of minutes of life that I spent watching the OC that I’ll never get back) was knit an entire scarf in 2 hours.

DSC00998DSC00997DSC00999DSC00995

Which ended up looking like:

DSC01023DSC01022DSC01024

Yep. Two hours. One scarf. One pretty proud knitter.

Okay, so by this time it was Sunday night. Monday was my big radioactive iodine dose. I was in the clear. The clear sucks. So I Monday (April 15), I had to go down to the hospital and get my big dose of I-131 (radioactive iodine) after my body scan. Okay, talk about boring. For the scan I had to lay on a skinny table board thing (okay, I’m a skinnier kid, right? It was almost too skinny for me. That’s how small the freaking board was) for 50 minutes. Yes, 50 minutes of laying as still as you possibly can. It was so boring and I was so hungry. (They didn’t want me to take in anything except water after midnight of the night before. And plus, I was still on my low-iodine diet of evilness. Yippee skippy. So basically I was dying for food. But anyway, that’s beside the point, so once the scan was over, they took us to this room with a ton of computers in it and we (my parents and I) got to look at my scan pictures. Basically I still had some thyroid tissues in the base and top of my neck along the midline (center of my neck) which is to be expected. It didn’t say whether the leftover tissues were cancerous or not but the idea of the I-131 is to destory all of the remaining thyroid tissues. What was slightly concerning however was that there was a third dot in my neck on the right side (off the midline) of one of the two existing dots. The doctor guy said that that was a little bit concerning the fact that that was definately thyroid cancer in the lymph node area (off the midline) but he wasn’t too concerned since the radio active iodine is given to me to kill off those tissues. But still the time that I thought I was cancer free and was doing fine, I actually still had cancer. Ummm, a smidgen unnerving.

So then we had to wait for an hour for them to bring up the I-131 for me to take. It took an hour. A whole entire hour. I seriously should have brought something to knit but at the same time, I didn’t want to infect anything that I knitted.

Then, when they called us back there, I had to sit in this room and wait as the doctor guy brought in this cart and then left the room. He and my parents stood outside in the doorway view watching me to make sure that I took the pill. The small (actually huge) blue pill was in a vial, which was in a 3 inch thick lead conatiner. I could barely open the lid it was so heavy. So I took and swallowed the pill. Then we were free to go. It was a weird feeling. Knowing that anyone out there can be radioactive and no one can tell. It was just weird seeing all of the people who had no idea.

Anyway, then, when I got home, was official isolation time. For 4 whole days, I was only allowed to leave my room for the purpose of going to the bathroom (which I would have to flush 3 times) or to take a shower (and I would have to wash out with cold water for 5 minutes afterwards). It was very lonely. I cracked down and allowed myself to knit with washable acryllic yarn on the 3 day. :) I read an entire book (the Yarn Harlot’s first book, hil-ar-i-ous) and watched all of Grey’s Anatomy Season 3 (my parents gave it to me on the night that I could eat real food and I watched it. all of it. I’ve only had it for 2 days now…) They gave it to me as an early birthday present (which is TUESDAY).

But alas! It’s FRIDAY! I’M FREE I’M FREE!!! Yay, I’m offically (as of 10:30 this morning) able to see the world outside of the 4 walls of my room! It’s pretty great. All I’ve done today was laundry, take a shower, eat, and upload/take a lot of pictures, and basically write in this here blog. :) Ahhh, Tommorrow? Homework. Bleh. Oh well, today, I’m enjoying my freedom.

Okay, now to knitting project updates.

1. Top-Down Raglan sweater

DSC01027DSC01026DSC01025

Yep, I was able to knit and knit and knit and knit to finally get to the splitting of the sleeves. Now I get to knit another 15 inches on the body and 26 inches on the sleeves.

2. (no progress has been made, but I took pictures) Dad’s darling socks!!

DSC01029DSC01028DSC01032DSC01031DSC01030

I’ve also found out that soon we’ll be getting kitties! :) Which my family is incredibly excited. So I decided to copy this pattern from a local library book for the world’s cutest chunky knit afghan which has “the cat” in several different languages on it and knit it. The idea quickly got shot down when I told my mom that it required 22 balls of color A and 1 ball each of colors B, C, and D. Then I saw this other amazing and exciting sweater and I started copying that pattern instead until I saw this:

DSC01019

You might not notice as an every day reader or non-knitter, but it says “steeking”. What the heck is wrong with this pattern maker? WHY STEEKING??? Why can’t it be a simple stinking sweater???

DSC01018

With it’s cute kitty motif patterns…

Then I thought greaaaat. So I decided to go to bed and then when I woke up this morning I decided that I was going to knit socks. Or at least finish my dad’s socks. For Christmas? Hey, I’d be ahead of the game. :)

Which, after I check the laundry, is what I’m going to now go do. So I hope you all read and enjoyed my enormously long update. I enjoyed writing it for the last hour… :)

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

